Gold Digger 4

Gold digger 4

Dayo sat on the edge of his bed staring into the darkness outside his window which threatened to invade his room, but was held at bay by the dim light from his bedside lamp. The night was quiet. But the thoughts in his mind waged a noisy war against his soul.
Since Tina visited him earlier in the week, he had been haunted by fear. It was fear like no other he had felt before in his life. Fear of getting tied to a woman he wasn’t sure about.
The silence in the darkness was broken by a renegade police siren which wailed through the night, and slowly faded into the distance.
He crawled back under the sheets and had a disturbed sleep.
By the time he woke up, it was time for work. He dressed up and rushed out of the house.
He arrived at his office in Marina at 7:30am. His secretary brought him black coffee and sandwiches. He finally settled down to work after breakfast.
At 9:30am he got a call.
It was Tina.

“Good morning,” she began.
“You are up early. Did you get any sleep?” He asked. Tina often slept past 9:00am before she got up.
“You know me, life is short. I try to make the very best out of it.”
“What did you want to tell me yesterday?”
“Oh, that? It’s nothing. I wanted to ask you for a favour.”
Dayo winced. He knew what was coming.
“Hello? Why are you silent?”
“I am not silent. I am listening to you.”
“I need some money to settle my hotel bill. It is due tomorrow.”
“I see,” Dayo said.
“How much do you need?” he asked with caution.
She gave him a figure.
“Should I come over to your office?”she asked.
“That won’t be necessary. I will send someone over to your hotel with the money.”
“I am near your office. I will be in and out before you know it. I promise not to interfere with your work.” She ended the call before he could say anything.

Tina did not want him to come to her hotel. What was she hiding? He stood up from his chair and looked through the huge glass windows at the traffic twenty floors below him. The cars crawled around like an army of disgruntled soldier ants. He had dated Tina for about two years before she walked on him two months ago. He realised he still had some feelings for her even after what happened in the past. He tried to shake the feelings away but they kept coming back. A part of him still wanted her in his life.
His secretary entered the office.”Sir, there is a miss Tina here to see you,” she said.
He turned away from the window. So Tina was already in the building when she called. He shook his head and smiled. When he thought he knew her, she always came up with something new.
“Ask her to come in.”
Tina wore a grey dress and black shoes. She looked good.
“You just can’t barge into my office anytime you like. I won’t allow it.”
“I am so sorry,” Tina said. “I was already in the neighbourhood and decided to drop by.”
Dayo brought out some cash and handed it over to her.
“Thank you so much. You are such a darling. ” she gave him a kiss.
“Would this be all? Are you sure there is nothing you want me to know?” He asked again.
“Like what?” Tina asked.
Dayo held her close and looked into her eyes. She looked so beautiful. He knew she was hiding something from him, but he wasn’t sure what it was. If his sister was right, this woman could be carrying his baby. He shivered slightly.
“You walked out on me two months go and now you want me to just embrace you without question? Tina, life doesn’t work that way.”
“I am sorry for what happened. You pushed me to do something desperate to save our relationship, and even then you still didn’t understand me.”
She moved very close and pressed her body against him. He smelt her perfume and put his hands on her waist.
“Dayo, I love you. You know that, don’t you?” She asked.
“I don’t know what to believe anymore,” he said.
“Say you love me too,” she kissed him on his lips.
Dayo savoured the kiss but stepped back from her. “We shouldn’t be doing this. I’ve got work to do.”
“Did you miss me?” She asked.
Before he could answer his intercom buzzed. It was his secretary letting him know he had clients waiting.
” You have to excuse me. I have meetings lined up this morning.”
“Thanks for the Money,” Tina left.
His secretary came in and work took over his mind.

It was hours later after the pressure of work had subsided that something occurred to him.
All the while Tina was in his office she never ran to the bathroom to throw up.
Could it be true that she was sick because of bad food?
Had his sister been wrong about the pregnancy?
He had to get to the bottom of this.
He had to see Tina tonight.

To be continued….

14 Comments

Filed under Short Stories

14 responses to “Gold Digger 4

  1. Olubunmi

    Another interesting chapter, I wish it had gone on for a bit longer.

    I am eager to read the confrontation between Dayo and Tina, and I hope Dayo mans up and stops being hyponitised.

    Dayo must realise that just because she didn’t rush to the loo doesn’t mean Tina is not pregnant. She could have vomited before arriving at his office. It’s a shame that like Tina’s perfume Dayo’s feelings are those of intoxication, it is glaring obvious that she doesn’t love him and all she wants is his money. who comes to the office of their so called ‘beloved’ and all they ask about is money, no mention of his welfare, etc.

    Looking forward to the next chapter.

  2. Bertha Phiri

    Morning Praise George,

    Thank you very much for part 4 waiting to see what will happen to Tina.

    God Bless You.

    Bertha.

    Date: Tue, 18 Feb 2014 18:53:15 +0000 To: berthaphiri2011@hotmail.com

  3. meg oteh

    Yea, Tina is really a manipulator and Dayo, very innocent. Well only wisdom will lead him to triumph at last. Obviously, the woman does not love him, but I know Dayo is afraid of being roped by surprise. Will anxiety help him? Not sure

  4. DAVID M BUKULA

    PLEASE MAY I KNOW IF THIS IS A BOOK SO THAT I ORDER ONE FROM U AND HOW MUCH IS ONE?

  5. Benson

    Pls. David M Bukula, meg oteh and Olubunmi just be patient and wait for part five, patient is a virtue and i am sure that is what Pastor George is trying to teach us. interesting story though waiting for the next part.

  6. datong patricia peter

    Wow! So interesting n filled with great suspense! Eagerly waiting to see d end of d duo

  7. Kwaku

    Another remarkable insight,i love the thoughtful meanings behind the letters.This is not just for the strong writing wits,but the substance of message it conveys.Part 5,can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

