Gold digger 3

Gold digger 3

“Turn your Bibles to the book of Luke the twelfth chapter and the fifteenth verse,” pastor Afolabi said. The sound of paper from hundreds of bibles filled the hall. Dayo looked at his watch. He still had enough time before his meeting at the club.
“Today, I will be speaking on the subject of contentment,” the pastor continued.
Two hours later, Dayo was at the Ikoyi club having lunch with his friend Timi.
“Dude, you won’t believe who I saw at Heathrow on the way to Lagos last week.”
“Who?”
“Just take a wild guess,” Timi took a sip of his tonic water and smiled.
“You know I don’t like playing games.”
“Oh, you will like to play games with this one!” Timi had a mischievous twinkle in his eyes. “She is tall and very beautiful. Let me give you a clue. Her name begins with the letter ‘T’,” he smiled.

“No way,” Dayo’s eyes open wide as it dawned on him what Timi was trying to tell him. He slowly put down his glass of water on the table.
“She looked gorgeous,”Timi said.
Dayo was silent for some seconds, his mind flooded with thoughts. What was Tina coming to do in Lagos? Was she here with someone? He had more questions than answers.
“I thought you said it was over between you two,” Timi didn’t miss his friend’s reaction to the piece of information he gave him.
“Yes it’s over,” but he didn’t sound very convincing.

Since the day Tina walked out on him in London, he had tried unsuccessfully to expunge her memory from his mind. Three months later, he still thought about her. He remembered the good times they shared. This made him feel good, creating a desire to see her. But somewhere in the dark regions of his mind, he remembered who she was, how she treated him and how she betrayed his trust. As the beautiful memories bathed his mind with pleasure, the bitter memories hung over his mind like dark clouds, threatening to ruin his parade with an ugly downpour.
He could see his friend watching him closely. “Ehnn,” he sighed deeply. His relationship with Tina was like a well roasted fish which has too many bones. The fish was delicious, but every bite had the possibility of choking you with a tiny bone.

“Dude, who are you dating?” Timi asked.
“Nike, you know her, the banker,”
“She’s not your type,” Timi said.
The truth was that he hadn’t been able to get Tina off his mind long enough to focus on a relationship with anyone. She seemed to creep in on him when he was about to make a move and start dating again.
He fought the emotions that raged within him. The meal had become tasteless since Timi brought up the subject.
He struggled through lunch and barely said much after that.
“Man, I hope I didn’t ruin your day with what I said.”
“No, you didn’t,” It wasn’t Timi’s fault that he still had feelings for Tina. Where those feelings came from, he couldn’t tell, but they held him captive like the determined tentacles of an octopus.
“Are we still going to this party or not?” Timi asked.
“We are,” Dayo said.
He didn’t want to go but he had made a promise to Vero that he would attend her 30th. He didn’t want to disappoint her.
The party made him forget Tina for a few hours. Vero was a lovely host. There was too much to eat and drink and the DJ had an excellent selection of music. He left the party at 9pm and headed back home. He had work on Monday morning and needed some rest.

He entered the apartment through the kitchen, took of his jacket in the dark and headed for his bedroom. As he was about to take off his shirt, he heard jazz music coming from the living room. He didn’t remember living the stereo on before leaving for church that morning. As he walked towards the living room, a scent hit his senses. Immediately he knew who it was.
Sitting on the sofa, in jeans and a white shirt, Tina held a drink in her hand.
“Hi.”
Dayo was surprised to find her in his apartment. He forgot that he gave her the keys when they visited his parents six months ago. He should have changed the locks, but he was glad he didn’t.
Tina stood up. She walked towards him.
“What are you doing here?” He stammered.
Her face looked fuller. There was something different about her.
“Did you miss me?” She asked and stood in front of him.
He wanted to scream ‘yes, I missed you. I was going crazy missing you,’ but he said nothing.
“I know you did,” she touched his arm gently.
“Dayo, I love you and I can’t live without you.”
“You should have called that you were on your way to Lagos.”
“I didn’t have to. I know your routine. Lunch after church then back home unless you have a function, which apparently you did. Am I correct?”
He hated that she knew him so well, but he also wanted her.
“Why are you here?”
“Excuse me,” she hurried to the bathroom. He heard her throw up.
“Horrible food on the plane,” she said and sat down.
“Dayo, please take a seat. I have something important to tell you.”
He looked at her with suspicion and sat down. “What is this about? Have you become bored with your ambassador boyfriend?”
Tina dropped her head and was silent.
“I am sorry about that. I was just trying to get your attention. You weren’t taking our relationship seriously. You left me no choice. I had to do something drastic. Sorry if I hurt you.” She said.

Before Tina could continue, the front door opened and Lola his sister entered the apartment.
“Ekurole, egbon mi,” she greeted Dayo. “Hi,” she said to Tina.
“Aren’t you supposed to be in South Africa on that free medical thing you do for the poor?” He asked her.
“Change of plans. Doctors are on strike,” she grinned.
“Tina, this is my sister Lola, a Medical doctor.”
“We met when you came to the house last year,” Lola said.
The ladies shook hands. Lola looked at Tina closely and held her hand a little too long. Dayo wondered what was going on.
“Excuse me,” Tina said for the second time and rushed into the bathroom.
Dayo turned to his sister.”Why didn’t you call to tell me you would be coming over? As you can see, I have a visitor,”
“Are you still dating her? Isn’t it over between you?” Lola asked.
“That is beside the point. You should have called. I don’t like people dropping in on me without notice.”
“I am sorry. Next time I will let you know.”
The bathroom door opened and Tina came out.
Lola looked at her curiously, then entered the kitchen.
“I’ve got to run. I will give you a call tomorrow,” Tina picked up her bag and headed for the door.
“What was it you wanted to tell me?” He walked her to her car, a Range Rover sports. He didn’t ask her how she got the car. Tina was very resourceful.
“Nothing serious. We can talk about it some other time.”
She leaned forward and kissed him on the lips. He didn’t move out of her way. He didn’t know how to feel about the emotions he felt after the kiss.
“See you soon,” she said and drove off.
When he entered the house, Lola was waiting for him.
“Egbon, I don’t know what is going on here. But I’ve got to tell you something.”
“What is this about?”
“Did you notice anything different about Tina?”
“Like what?”
“So you didn’t see it?” Lola shook her head from side to side.
“I’ve got lots of work tomorrow and I need some rest. Say what you want to say very quickly I want to go to bed.”
“I think Tina is pregnant.”
It was like a punch slammed into his solar plexus. He almost doubled over, but managed to sit down slowly in a chair.
There was a look of raw dread on his face.
“I think she is pregnant. From the look of things she should be about three months gone. I will have to check to confirm that, but she is definitely pregnant.”
Dayo didn’t say anything. He knew his sister was right.
She left him sitting in the living room and went to bed.
That night, Dayo hardly slept.
His secret sin had come back to haunt him.

18 Comments

Filed under Short Stories

18 responses to “Gold digger 3

  1. Charmaine Hofmeister

    Good day

    So in season for me

    Praise God

  2. DAVID MWAMBA BUKULA

    please George this time continue with part 4 i can’t wait for it even tomorrow will be ok with me i really like this story.

  3. Frances

    Great!!..no better word to describe this, I am itching for the next part…

  4. Benson

    Please sir, don’t waste any time! part 4

  5. Hi Praise George, Waiting for part 4. God bless you.

  6. meg oteh

    Very intriguing. Why don’t you take writing to the next level…..movie writing?

  7. meg oteh

    Ahhh, yes !!!! part 4. Please, hurry!

  8. This is a great story! These people walk our streets daily.

Leave a Reply

